UPDATED WITH VIDEO: The Results Are In as Wilmington Selects New Town and School Officials

Leslee Quick and Ginny Bonish appointed to School Committee while Michael McCoy and Judy O'Connell are town's choice for Board of Selectmen.

Following a lengthy campaign and 12 hours of polling, Wilmington voters selected their newest officials on Saturday.

Ginny Bonish was voted in to her first term as School Committee member while Leslee Quick earned reelection in a lopsided vote. Bonish topped the ticket with 33.83% of the vote (1,682 votes) while Quick snagged 30.49% of the ballot (1,516 votes).

Manny Mulas finished in a distant third with 14.52% while Michael Bodnar was next with 12.69% support. Karl Sagal rounded things out with 8.33% of the vote.

"I'm just glad to be able to continue the work I've been doing," said Quick. "It's been a long road. Everyone did a lot of work. It was a long, wet, rainy day today. I appreciate that no matter what the outcomes were, everyone saw that people care, and they're willing to step up to the plate."

Bonish said she'll ease her way into the discussion as she becomes accustomed to her new role.

"I look forward to learning more about the issues and the responsibilities of being on the School Committee. I need to learn more about it before I get into it," said Bonish. "I want to help make the decisions that the School Committee makes, and I think I'll do well."

The Board of Selectmen results were closer, but Michael McCoy earned another reelection and topped the ticket with 32.92%, a total of 1,739 tallies. Newcomer Judy O'Connell earned 32.45% of the votes (1,714 votes) to grab the second seat.

Ray Lepore earned 1,345 votes for 25.46 of the ballot, but fell short in his reelection bid. He finished ahead of Mark Nelson, who garnished 9.05% support with 478 votes.

"I ran on my own. I had no political support of any other politican in town," said McCoy. "For the residents who didn't vote for me, I want them to know I want to be their selectman too, and I'm going to continue what I've done for the last 21 years."

O'Connell had the support of three selectmen during the election, and she said she will waste no time becoming involved with her new colleagues.

"I'm certainly respectful as a rookie selectman coming in," said O'Connell. "I will pick and choose when I choose to speak and I will speak on things of substance. I want to be a contributing voice to the matter, and I thinking listening is a key component."

In addition, Patrick Keogan won uncontested for Redevelopment Authority while Greg Bendel took home Housing Authority honors as a write-in.

All winners were sworn in after the results were announced by Town Clerk Sharon George


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »